The Data Mining Forum                             open-source data mining software data mining conferences Data Science for Social and Behavioral Analytics DSSBA 2022 data science journal
IMPORTANT: This is the old Data Mining forum.
I keep it online so that you can read the old messages.

Please post your new messages in the new forum: https://forum2.philippe-fournier-viger.com/index.php

So I have a model, how do I get other people to use it? AKA what are easy to use scoring tools?
Posted by: johan
Date: August 27, 2013 11:56AM

Hello there,
I am a novice at datamining, completed one of my first projects, but having trouble to make the results useable.

I am working in a small visitor serving company (think zoos, museums, aquariums,...) that wanted to have a model predicting attendance.

I was able to create a model using historical attendance figures, using the Decision Tree module in SPSS. Independent variables where month, day of week, etc.
Model performance on crossvalidated data is ok (73% correct predictions)
SPSS can export the model using PMML, and as a SQL script.

After creating the model, I wanted to have a simple easy to use scoring tool so laymen (aka managers) within my company could use it.

What I did was create a simple GUI in Excel, with drop down boxes where people could fill in month, day of week etc, and after hittig the "run" button the worksheet would come up with the prediction. (This is what I call a 'scoring tool', although I am not sure wether this is the correct term in Data Mining lingo.)

On the backend of the Excel sheet i have created a VBA code which containes the 'SQL rules' of the model, created by SPSS. By hitting the run button, the VBA code runs the 'SQL rules' on the input the user has given.