The Data Mining Forum                             open-source data mining software data mining conferences Data Science for Social and Behavioral Analytics DSSBA 2022 data science journal
IMPORTANT: This is the old Data Mining forum.
I keep it online so that you can read the old messages.

Please post your new messages in the new forum: https://forum2.philippe-fournier-viger.com/index.php

create a text file for SPMF
Posted by: dmeloni10
Date: March 06, 2019 06:48AM

Hi! I'm a CS student and i'm using SPMF for discovering sequential pattern. I have a CSV file that contains 3 columns of integer type: an User ID, a timestamp and a numeric value distinct for every purchased product.

UID TIMESTAMP SKU

1 1 20
1 1 5
1 2 3
1 2 7
2 1 16
2 4 1
3 1 3
3 1 4
3 1 8
3 2 7

.. ... ...

Using Knime, without code, grouping by UID and time stamp, i just concatenated as a string the values of products, separated by a blank space, then adding - at the end of every transaction and -2 at the end of every row,then i deleted the UID and i got the sequences.
Finally Isaved as a text file, like this

20 5 -1 3 7 -1 -2
16 -1 1 -1 -2
3 4 8 -1 7 -1 -2

The problem is that every row of this file is a string ("20 5 -1 3 7 -1 -2"winking smiley and SPMF read integer values.
What could be the right solution to create a sequence for each different customer,with SPMF format? I try to use "Generate a sequence database" algorithm but it is don't able to distinguish and separate transactions for each individual customer. ://

Thank you

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: create a text file for SPMF
Date: March 06, 2019 03:30PM

Hi,

Thanks for using SPMF! I think that the format that you have shown:

>
> 20 5 -1 3 7 -1 -2
> 16 -1 1 -1 -2
> 3 4 8 -1 7 -1 -2
>