The Data Mining Forum                             open-source data mining software data mining conferences Data Science for Social and Behavioral Analytics DSSBA 2022 data science journal
IMPORTANT: This is the old Data Mining forum.
I keep it online so that you can read the old messages.

Please post your new messages in the new forum: https://forum2.philippe-fournier-viger.com/index.php

the differences between RuleGrowth,TRuleGrowth, ERMiner
Posted by: xiaowei
Date: April 06, 2020 09:23PM

Hi Professor Philippe,

I'm studying sequence rule mining algorithms recently. Although I have read your related literature, I still don't understand the difference between RuleGrowth, TRuleGrowth, ERMiner algorithms. Can you explain them briefly? Especially the meaning of their respective parameters.

Kind regards,
Xiaowei

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: the differences between RuleGrowth,TRuleGrowth, ERMiner
Date: April 08, 2020 05:26PM

Hi Xiaowei,

Yes, I will explain the main idea.

CMDeo, CMRules, RuleGrowth, ERMiner: These algorithms have exactly the same input and exactly the same output. The only difference between these algorithm is how they work internally to find the output. They use different strategies to find the result and because of this some of them are faster or slower or use more or less memory. So the difference is about the performance. Generally, RuleGrowth is faster than CMRules, and CMRules is usually faster than CMDeo. ERMiner is probably faster than RuleGrowth but I think that it may use more memory. Of course, it depends on the data. It may not always be the case. So usually i recommend to use RuleGrowth or ERMiner.

These three algorithms have two parameters: minimum support and minimum confidence. The goal is to find some rules that have a high support and a high confidence (a support no less than the minimum support and a confidence no less than the minimum confidence).