The Data Mining Forum                             open-source data mining software data mining conferences Data Science for Social and Behavioral Analytics DSSBA 2022 data science journal
IMPORTANT: This is the old Data Mining forum.
I keep it online so that you can read the old messages.

Please post your new messages in the new forum: https://forum2.philippe-fournier-viger.com/index.php

Mining patterns in a single sequence
Posted by: Enrique
Date: December 23, 2020 01:21AM

Hi all,

I am a researcher in another field (computational fluid dynamics), but in a certain project in which I participate I need to find repeated patterns in a given sequence. My data structure is as follows: given a certain alphabet (e.g. {A, B, C, D, E}), I have a SINGLE sequence (e.g. "ABCCEEADEBCEABDCCEEBBDEAECEBCCEEBDE" ).I want to find the closed patterns in this sequence with a minimum threshold support (e.g. more than 2 repetitions), and whose length is greater or equal to lMin (e.g. 3) and less than lMax (e.g. 10). The desirable result in this example will be "CCEE", together with the positions of of the repetitions within the sequence.

I have been reading pattern mining literature for a couple of weeks (I am a complete novice), until I found this library and this forum. I have some questions that maybe you can help me to solve:

- The input format for the algorithms in this library is a "transaction database"; that is, several sequences where patterns that are repeated among them will be searched. Why is this database format so studied? According to my intuition, the format of my problem (a single data sequence) seems more general, am I wrong?

- Is there a way to use the algorithms for transaction databases in "single sequences" (I don't know if this is the technical name)? Or is there a particual algorithm that would be easily adaptable to my case? Or perhaps am I looking at the inappropriate literature?

Thank you very much in advance

Options: ReplyQuote